How big of a tamale steamer do I need??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

texasgirl

Master Chef
Okay, dh has decided that I can make tamales:rolleyes: and now will buy me a steamer for them.
My question is, how big should I get? They don't have real big ones at Walmart or Target, so, I'm looking on line. What I want is like a 60 qt. or is that too big but, I want it wide not so deep. Do any of you chef's out there know what I'm looking for and where I can get one.

Okay, further looking, maybe 60qt. IS too big. Does this look good?

Last edited:
:LOL: :LOL: :LOL:
Ha Ha. I'm am in the same boat tg! This tamale steamer looks like it'd be perfect and cheap to boot! I think I may order one for myself. They didn't go for the greek food but they both loved the tamales! Maybe our husbands should meet!

I'm no expert, having never made tamales much less knowing there was a special steamer for it...but 7 dozen tamales is a LOT of tamales! I should really try to expand my horizons, the only things I eat at Mexican restaurants is burritos, quesadillas and taco salad!

Jenny said:
I'm no expert, having never made tamales much less knowing there was a special steamer for it...but 7 dozen tamales is a LOT of tamales! I should really try to expand my horizons, the only things I eat at Mexican restaurants is burritos, quesadillas and taco salad!
You're right, that is a lot of tamales. The recipe I made was about 4 dozen and I thought that was a lot. But as tamales are such a long process and freeze so well, I figure make a bunch at once and have enough tamales to last! Right, tg?!