Kitchenaid dough tips

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

billmac

Assistant Cook
My apologies if this has been asked before. I'm just getting into "dough stuff" and want to use my Kitchenaid. I made pretzels last week with pretty good success, and I hope to make pizza dough tonight, but have a few questions.

What I want to know, generally speaking is:

What speed do you mix / knead your dough with the mixer?
Typically how long do you knead it?
Do you pause the mixer to scrape the ball off the dough hook periodically?

Once the ingredients are combined at the lowest speed, I go to 4 for kneading the dough.

I knead it for 5 minutes

If you coat the upper portion of the dough hook with oil, the dough won't climb up it so much. When it does, I scrape it down and restart.

I go by the book that came with my KA mixer:

1) Mix and Knead at speed 2 - it has more torque for heavy mixing at that speed.
2) Knead about 5-10 minutes - depends on what I'm making but closer to 10 minutes generally for bread/pizza doughs.
3) If the dough climbs up the hook - yes, I stop the mixer, pull it down, and resume. Greasing the hook will help, as Andy mentioned - but wet doughs have a tendency to "climb".

:) If you hear a loud grinding noise from your KA stop it right away as the dough is too heavy for the machine and you could burn out the motor, if this happens finish dough by hand

Kitchen Aid Mixing Speeds for Bread

Do know the quantity of bread dough your KA can handle (varies with model) and do *not* exceed it.

IMHO, mixing on speed *2* (aka "low) with the dough hook is safer than than mixing on speed *4* (aka "medium").

A good recipe that supplies directions for a KA mixer should give mixing times. Follow them.