What to put on my perch?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

glyc

Assistant Cook
hi, i'm a very novice cook, and i need to cook perch tonight but i have no idea what to do with it! i'm still learning what herbs/sauces go together etc, but cos this is for someone else and it's part of my peace offering, i don't want to mess it up.

here's what i have in the house:

herbs/spices: fresh oregano, (the rest are packaged, not fresh) lemongrass, basil, coriander, ginger, garlic, hot chilli, (i think there's sweet thai chilli somewhere around somewhere too), pesto

marinades etc: sweet plum & sesame, sweet soy & garlic, green curry paste -- i have all the usual stuff like seafood cocktail and tartar sauce but i don't like them nd don't want to use

salads/antipasto: roasted capsicum, grilled eggplant, semi-dried tomatoes, italian salad (ie lettuce)

cheese: danish fetta (it's the creamy one for those not in the know) or cheddar haha

thanks for any ideas you can give me for either a marinade/salad/whatever : )

Perch? don't need to put anything on it. Just wash, dry with paper towel, dip in egg/milk mixture and then dredge in saltine cracker crumbs and deep fry. Yummy.

You could bake it and garnish with a little fresh oregano and put a dab of pesto on it and serve with toasted bread with some of the fetta on top and throw together the salad items with a simple dressing. I like lemon juice and garlic on nearly every thing.

Maybe you don't have all the ingredients and don't have the time to go get them (though nothing unusual are required!), if so, try this on the next occasion... they are absolutely lovely!!

Orangy Ocean Perch in a skillet

Ingredients:
  • Fillets of Ocean Perch (or any firm meaty white fish fillet would do I am sure)
  • milk
  • butter
  • flour
  • 1 big juicy orange (with good skin on it)
  • flat leaved parsley
  • salt