Choco-Coffee Rub

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

moonglowlady

Assistant Cook
(I hope this goes to the right place)
I have been making and using a choco-coffee rub for about 2 years now.
It resides in a "recycled" mayo jar with a "recycled" shaker top from a grated parmesan cheese jar. I prefer glass to plastic and found that the "shake" cheese lid fit perfectly on a mayonaisse jar mouth. So I have holes under one lid flap for shaking and a scoop shape under another lid flap for re-filling.

In this I put:

Finely Ground French Roast Coffee
Finely ground Spanish Cocoa
Finely ground brown sugar
Hot Red Pepper powder
Finely Ground Cinnamon
Finely Ground Ginger
Kosher Salt

I do grind the brown sugar, or sieve it or something to make it as fine as possible. The quantities are listed in order. The coffee and cocoa are almost equal, the cocoa, slightly less. Then the brown sugar amount is just below the cocoa amount.

So, an example is:

1 cup coffee grounds (8 oz.)
1/2 to 3/4 cup cocoa (4-6 oz)
1/3 to 1/2 cup brown sugar (3 - 4 oz)

then just tablespoon or teaspoon amounts of seasonings, such as, based on the amounts above;
1 (or less) TBSP Hot Pepper
1 (or lesss)TBSP Cinnamon
1 - 2 TSP ground ginger
1 - 2 TSP Kosher Salt

As you can see, the measurements are flexible, but I follow these basic proportions when I make a new batch.

Now, as far as to what this can be applied, I have used it on EVERY protein main object, including;

Beef ribs
Beef steak
Beef stew chuncks
Ground Beef (burgers)

Pork Roast
Pork chops

Whole Roast Chicken
Roast Chicken parts
Slow Baked Crispy Chicken wings
Grilled Chicken Breasts

Whole Roast Turkey

Mahi-Mahi Steaks
Swordfish Steaks

Sauteed Shrimps

My daughter does not like this rub. I love it. It may be a very personal preference.
(My daughter drinks instant coffee but loves my {from scratch-of-course}onion soup gratinee).