Calphalon One Nonstick Going to Heaven?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

librarygirl

Assistant Cook
Hi Folks

I'm a newbie to the DC Forum and I love this forum b/c of all the new things I learn from reading your wonderful posts.

1st Question: I think I may have damaged my Calphalon One Nonstick 12" Fry Pan b/c when I tried to clean the pan after poaching eggs somehow I used a knife to get some of the remnants, impervious to dish soap, scraped off the pan. Now there are slit marks on the pan and making my fave Spanish Omelette becomes a disaster b/c it sticks to those areas of the pan. Does this mean I should throw this away? A lot of my foods are coming out successful with this pan anymore. I'm not sure if it's the pan or my technique.

2nd Question: I've used the nonstick fry pan for almost everything. Yes, even searing. I live in an apartment that only uses electric burners which I think seriously pulls me back in the cooking are more than the fry pan itself. I looked at Williams Sonoma catalogs and found All-Clad. Not sure to get SS, LTD, or Copper Core. Any differences for electric burners? I need one pan for omelettes and one for searing or sauteing. Which type of material should I get for each for electric stoves?

Thanks!

I don't have any experience with All Clad but there have been many, many posts on this subject if you do a quick search. I do have experience with Calphalon One and Calph. nonstick.

Damaged surface there's not much you can do. By the sounds of it you put a good size gouge in it.

Calph. one Hard anodized would work fine electric, it's less expensive and from what I've found out it performs equally well to All-Clad. Check out pans on Amazon, TJ Maxx and Marshalls. You can find individual pans at big discounts from retail and build you own set of pans you want.

JDP