Cooking for your 4-leggeds

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hey, hoping everyone's little furry friends are doing okay with the recent pet food recalls. It keeps getting bigger.

My DH and I have been making homemade meals for our kitty for over 10 years and we're thankful he's healthy. If anyone needs recipes, we used Anitra Frazier's "the New Natural Cat", and Dr. Pitcairn's book.

I recently read that some of the tainted rice protein made its way into hog feed in CA. So just keep your ears open and tread lightly around pork, I guess. Hopefully they'll get all this cleared up. It's so unfortunate.

Blessings.

I have thought about making the leap to raw food diets for a while, luckily, where I am we are, as yet, not subject to the recalls, and I have sourced 100% meat food for the interim, which is almost impossible in UK, so I'm buying to take back too. Unfortunatly my current lifestyle makes a decent sized grinder for bones etc impossible, so I have been feeding bought food with the highest meat content I can find, with a balanced biscuit (now suspended) and fresh raw meat: chicken on bone, whole quails and other bots and bobs. If I were in a possition to make the shift to BALANCED home prep, this would have been the shove I needed.

Tyson knows where the kitchen is. If he wants something cooked, he can do it his own self!

We breed mini rat terriers and I have been making my mommie dog's food ever since she started expecting. This is time consuming and I don't think she likes my food any better than she did her canned dog food, but I have been afraid to feed her commerical food while she has been expecting and is nursing. Yes, it is unfortunate and inconvienant that you can't trust pet food lately.