ISO Yeast Information

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gpalexiades

Assistant Cook
I made a loaf of Italian Bread today. I started it in my Bread Machine on the Dough Cycle. Then I covered it to rise, then baked it in the oven. I used Instant Yeast. The bread didn't rise as it should of & turned out to be hard. If I used Bread Machine Yeast would my bread turn out like it should.

Thank You.
George

I've never used bread machine yeast and I make my bread the same way you did. Perhaps the yeast you used was not good any longer. Do you still have the package it came in and can check the expiration/use by date? That would be the first thing I would investigate.

I buy my yeast in bulk (16-ounce) packages and keep it tightly sealed in a jar in the freezer. I've been doing this for nearly 14 years and have never had a problem and I bake ALL the bread we eat. Everything from sandwich bread to hamburger buns and everything in between.

I also by the 16oz packages of yeast. Yes, I keep it in a sealed container, but not in the freezer. The exp date is Feb 2008. This is the first time I did not use Bread Machine Yeast.

No, this is the first time I made this recipe. If I remember correctly I used luke warm water, it was from the sink fauset. How cold/hot should the water be? I'll try making the bread again.
Thank you for your help.

I, too, use water from the sink faucet but I use an instant-read thermometer to be sure my water is no hotter than about 105 degrees F. That is a good temperature to ensure that the yeast isn't killed.

Also, do you measure your flour into a measuring cup or do use a scale? I cook using an electronic scale so I don't use the cup method. Cooking by weight is more accurate because flour can take on moisture from the environment.