Good Source for Professional Knife Roll Kits?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Indigo_Swale

Assistant Cook
Hi all.

I currently work as a "cook" for a catering company.

I use the quotes because I haven't been to culinary school and there isn't a whole lot of real cooking involved in the job--mostly heating stuff up, assembling hors d'oeuvres, finishing and plating pre-cooked food at event sites. But I get to wear a chef's coat and checked pants and pretend that I know what I'm doing. :chef: I can't tell you how much I love this.

So, I need to get a decent knife roll starter kit. Most of the other cooks at work got their kits at school, and as a non-student, I'm having trouble finding what I need. I'd rather not buy a kit off the internet because I know how important it is to try out knives before you buy them--but I'm willing to do it if there's no other option.

I don't want to spend a fortune, but I don't want to buy junk, either. (I used to take my Wusthoff Grand Prix 7" Santoku to job sites, but I lost it:cry:...so I bought a cheap stamped "made in China" Sabatier for ten bucks to use til I get a kit that's decent but won't make me feel suicidal if it gets lost or stolen.)

Any professional chefs here know a good source for this? Is it best to go to restaurant supply stores? Or better to buy online? (I'm in the Los Angeles area, and if anyone can recommend a good brick-and-mortar source in the southland, I'd be much obliged.)

I did find an 8-pocket knife roll kit that included 3 Sabatier "Grand Chef" knives (4" paring, 5" boning, and 10" chefs) and a steel on sale for $149.95 at cutleryandmore.com. Seems like a good deal, no? I'm thinking this might be the way to go, even though I haven't tried these knives.

Any thoughts?

Thanks much!

Last edited: