ISO Cake recipes.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JoAnn L.

Master Chef
I am looking for some recipes for "TNT" homemade cake. I would like a nice heavy and dense cake, filled with either bananas, apples, carrot, nuts or raisins. I can't have chocolate, so I would like any other kind. Please share your favorite recipe with me and the rest of our DC family. Thanks.

I have a carrot cake I will find if interested. With pineapple and raisin.
Almond / Cream cheese frosting.
Sounds wierd but I guess that's me in a nutshell!

JoAnn, I have a wonderful recipe that is made with walnuts and has a caramel icing. Easy, too. Made in a 9- x 13-inch pan. Just yummy as heck. I've been making it for over 40 years and everyone loves it.

Katie E, I would love to try your cake, I have never had homemade caramel icing. Is it hard to make?

This is a cake that my mom used to make when I was a kid. It is still one of my favorites.

Banana Split Cake

½ cup butter or margarine, melted
2 cups graham cracker crumbs
2 eggs
2 cups sifted powdered sugar
¾ cup butter or margarine, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 can (20 oz.) crushed pineapple, well-drained
4 medium bananas, sliced (about 3 cups)
2 cups whipped cream
½ cup coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans
½ cup maraschino cherries, drained and cut in half

Combine melted butter and cracker crumbs. Pat in bottom of 13x9x2-inch pan. Beat eggs on high speed of electric mixer until light, about 4 minutes. Add powdered sugar, softened butter, and vanilla. Beat 5 minutes. Spread over crumbs. Chill for 30 minutes. Spread pineapple over chilled creamed mixture. Arrange bananas over pineapple. Cover with whipped cream. Sprinkle with nuts. Cover, refrigerate 6 hours or overnight. Garnish with cherries. Makes 12 servings.

This is a cake that my mom used to make when I was a kid. It is still one of my favorites.

Banana Split Cake