Food competition meal ideas?? Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

r0ck0nlcrss16

Assistant Cook
hi everyone! I'm new, and this is my first post. I hope this is an appropriate forum for me to ask this question :)

I'm a college student, and I've always been interested in cooking, but i never really pursued it until this past summer, when I was home from school, bored, and entertained myself by cooking.

Now I've gone and jumped in over my head-I decided to enter myself in a cooking competition at my school. I've got a $100 grocery budget supplied by the competition's organizers, and I'm supposed to go out, get what I need, and then come back and make a meal that will be judged based on taste,originality, etc. And if somehow I'm a finalist, I'll have to make another meal to enter in the final competition.

Sooo I was hoping some of you more experienced chefs could help get me started? I want something pretty easy, and hopefully won't take very long to make, and will still be tasty enough to win :) my idea so far is maybe some sort of pork chop with apples? thats about all I know I can do and not totally tank. and then also a dessert and/or appetizer. other than that, I have no idea where to begin.

thanks so much everyone! any help I can get will be so appreciated!!

This looks fancy, tastes great but in reality is simple to fix.

Try a pork loin roulade. Get a pork loin. Slice down 1/2 to 3/4" in until you are withing the same distance from the bottom. Turn the knife 90 degrees and continue cutting and "unrolling" the meat as you go. You should end up with a slab of meat.

Create a stuffing. Get imaginative but make sure it's moist. Spread the stuffing on the meat, roll up like a jelly roll and tie with butchers twine. Figure out a glaze with the flavors you want, glaze the roast, cover loosely with foil and bake.