Kitchen floor

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vilasman

Senior Cook
I have been meaning to ask this question for weeks, and I am here todaym rainy day and I am going to do floors.

How/what do you use to clean the grout in your kitchen tile floor? Cleaning the tile isn't so bad now that we have a swifter wet mop, but it isn't doing much for the grout, any thoughts?

I use a degreaser and a toothbrush on my sunroom floor. White grout no less. :glare:You need to seal it after a thorough cleaning like that.

We are getting a new ceramic tile kitchen floor this summer. The contractor said he would seal the grout to keep it from staining. Great idea considering I'm a messy cook!

Once you get the grout clean that might be worth considering.

You might also want to consider colored grout, Andy. If you can find a darker one that goes with your tile and color scheme, the staining and dirt issues aren't as "glaring". But it also needs to be sealed - all grout should be sealed for ease of cleaning and longevity of the grout.

When I read the OP my first thought was 'seal it'.

Seems as though this is not an original thought. :LOL:

I did a Google search for tile grout preparation.

I can see several issues such as type of grout your prepping and sealing. Seems to me grout on floor tile should be rubberized or plasticized (to handle flex) so that would make a difference in all the materials used in the entire process.

Andy - don't know if you're interested, don't know what your budget is, yet sealing grout is simple, but labor intensive. A few years ago I had about 600 sq ft of tile laid. The contractor gave me a separate price for sealing. I opted for recruiting my children for the task and we did it ourselves. It was tedious, but it saved me a bunch of bucks and I suspect we did a better job.

Just a thought.