Nymphs for the cat

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chief Longwind Of The North

Certified/Certifiable
I have been tying fishing flies for about 6 months or so now and have made great strides in improving my skill. This morning I tied a large nymph pattern called a Moristone. It is larger than moxt nymphs at about 1/2 inch in total length. After completing the fly, to make it more durable, I daubed on a bit of fly head cement, a watery substance that "glues" the thread strands together to insure that knots, and therefore flies, don't come unraveled in use. I left the Moristone in the fly vise to dry and went about my business. After a few moments my wife exclaimed; "Help!" I turned as she continued; "The cat is eating your fly!"

Visions of a barbed hook stuck somewhere in the cat's tongue or cheek filled my mind. I quickly shooed the cat away and found the vise empty. I was frightened for the cat. But fortunately, he had dropped the fly and I found it lying harmless on the floor.

I don't know if that nymph will catch fish, but it looks good enough to catch an insect eating cat.:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: I'm just happy that I didn't set the hook.:LOL:

Seeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

You need a steadier hand than I have to be able to tie flies. Good for you. I have a hell of a time just threading the tippet through the eye of those real small hooks! I do love to fish, though.

I was a fly fisherman and tied my own flys throughout the
60s and early 70s - Made woolybears, royal coachmen, some
wet flys - nymphs and streamers.
The most exciting event in my fishing career is when I
first caught a fish on a homemade fly.
I gave it up when I realized the parts of fly fishing I
enjoyed the most were wading in the streams and the
graceful art of casting. Didn't care if I caught fish or not.
Hiking replaced the wading and frisbee replaced the casting