When is my CHICKEN DONE!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aguilerajuan123

Assistant Cook
I have tried cooking chicken so many times. I do a lot of exercise and I need to stop eating out so much so I have been trying to learn how to cook different things.
When I cook chicken on a pan should I put any sort of oil or what not so the chicken doesn't stick. and it seems like every time I see the outsides all done its still not finished and if I keep it on their any longer the chicken will burn to much PLEASE HELP HAHA

Chicken and turkey are a special case as they have to be fully cooked to be safe. As a new cook, I recommend you buy a digital instant read thermometer.

If you're cooking boneless, skinless breasts, try this. Preheat your oven to 350 F. Heat a skillet or frying pan on the stove top and add some oil and get that hot. Dry the breasts with paper towel, season and place in the hot skillet over medium high heat. Leave it undisturbed to brown for 3-4 minutes. The meat will stick to the pan initially but will unstick itself after several minutes.

When the first side is browned, turn the meat over. After a minute or two on the second side, place the pan and the chicken into the oven for 12-15 minutes depending on size. Check the internal temperature at the thickest part of the breast. The temperature should be over 161 F. Aim for 165 F or so. There is no need to go higher "just to be safe". Overcooking results in dry chicken.

After that cooking time, remove the pan from the oven and cover loosely with foil for 5 minutes to allow the meat to rest.

Should I use some olive oil would that be fine? What are some good seasonings I've been using just garlic salt and some lemon. I'm going to try again tonight! Lol