Questions on Oil and Greens

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Epix

Assistant Cook
Hello, i'm new to this forum. I've been looking for a place to ask some questions about cooking. :chef:

So when you guys buy salad greens, do you usually get packaged, or boxed ones, or do you get the unpackaged ones found with the other produce? Since i'm a new cook i've been buying the boxed ones. Which ones last longer, are fresher, and or taste better?

And as for cooking oil, would you use extra virgin olive oil to sear a chicken, or something else like canola oil which has a higher smoke point? It seems as though all the food network chefs used EVOO for everything.

Oh and what's the difference between a black pan and the silver one? What are they used for?

Last edited:
Welcome to DC!!

I can give some input on the salad green part of your post: I usually buy the pre-bagged salad greens. I know they are more expensive than preparing your own. But it is worth it to me to be able to have them on hand. I like the different lettuces in the mixes, most aren't available on their own at my grocery store. One thing I started doing recently. I buy a head of Napa cabbage and chop it up and keep it in a Ziploc bag and throw it in with the salad greens during the week. It keeps for a long time and helps me extend the more expensive and short-lived bagged greens.

I use olive oil for sauteeing and browning. I did find that I do not like to use it for roasting in the oven at high temp. It got way too hot for me and smelled bad.

:)Welcome to DC.

I buy the un wrapped salad greens Taste fresher to me. I saute with a lighter olive oil. Extra Virgin Leaves to much olive oil taste for me. I love extra virgin oil and spices with a good crusty bread. I know it sounds werid.:rolleyes:

Josie