ISO Gravy advice for AnnaMaria

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pam Leavy

Senior Cook
AnnaMaria has asked for some help making gravy. I am no expert. Can somebody explain it to her? She has been sharing the most incredible recipes with us.

I did explain a bit about the meat juices and roux. But I don't have enough experience myself making gravy from scratch.

Help!

thanks. Pam

Basically what I do is either

1. If there is a certain amount of grease left in the pan I will add enough flour to make a paste. Always stir constantly for about 2-3 minutes to remove the flour taste. Then add your liquid - whether it is turkey drippings, milk, stock, etc. a little at a time whisking the whole time to remove lumps.

OR

2. If it is a fairly large amount of turkey drippings or stock from cooking stew beef and you want a gravy for the rice or mashed potatoes for example try to remove quite a bit of the grease that has floated to the top. Mix equal parts of cornstarch and water or milk (slurry) together with a fork (the water or milk have to be cold) - maybe 3 TBS of each - then pour in your liquid that is simmering while whisking. Take breaks pouring in liquid to determine how thick it is going to be. Pour in enough to make it thick. But remember, it will continue to thicken so take your time and let it cook for a couple minutes befrore adding too much thickener.

If the gravy is too thick add more water or milk or stock.

If the gravy is too thin jsut continue to mix cornstarch and water or milk and add to liquid.

AnnaMaria,

If this still doesn't help let me know and we'll converse via private messages so I can determine exactly what you need.

Anna-Maria; Gravies differ from sauces in that they are flavored primarily with meat juices, extracted either during the meat preperation, or through simmering on a low boil for an extended period of time.