Unconditional Advice Wanted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coballs

Assistant Cook
Hey everyone so I am new to the forums and just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Dan and I am graduating college in about 3 weeks (THANK GOD IM ALMOST DONE). Took me about 4 years to realize I didn't want to do anything in my major, but rather go in the food industry. I love everything about it, and cooking keeps me out of my head and occupied. I'll be moving from Pennsylvania to Florida in September and will be looking for a job in the kitchen working the line.

Now I have no former experience working in a kitchen, but I am a better cook than the average student. Does anyone have advice for me not only for working in a restaurant, but just for refining my skills or things to read up on before I delve into this field that I so badly want to give a shot. Thanks!

Wear good supportive shoes (floors are hard).

Always show up for work early, ready to work and in a great mood.

Never drink on the job or at the place you work (even after service) - ever.

Regardless of the position you get, learn as much as you can about that position and then about other positions. Be ready to fill in as needed. You will be remembered when a better position becomes available.

Kitchens can be high stress at crunch time and tempers flare. Always be polite.

Learn to cook eggs.

Experiment with foods you don't usually eat or like.

Study about ingredients and their preparations.

Brush up on your Spanish

Kitchens are hot - avoid polyester clothes and keep your hair short

Practice knife skills

Avoid chain restaurants if possible - not too much cooking goes on in many of them (lots of heat and eat)

Acquire nothing not directly related to your pursuit! Owning stuff ties you down. If you are serious about the food industry you may be moving regularly for a few years. Learn to live light.