Tamarind paste

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

QuinnQuiver

Assistant Cook
So... I have a question about making tamarind paste...here is some info I found on making tamarind paste.....

"...I am a former chef and use it in many dishes, I worked in Asia and the Caribbean, and here in Toronto Canada I buy them quite regularly, I take them out of the pods, and for me to keep them I make a vinegar and brown sugar syrup (1 1/2 cups cider vinegar, 1/2 cup dark brown sugar) with a few chili flakes added. I then put in the seeds and cook the mixture on low for 10-15 minutes, then I strain it, removing the seeds, this makes a pasty substance, I use it in Indian cooking, Thai, Jamaican and Mexican, even made a worchester style sauce once with it."

I am now wondering what is considered the seeds of the tamarind...
There is an outer shell + little stringy things that you take off of tamarind right away...

So I cooked the tamarind in the apple cider vinegar/brown sugar/chili mixture.

Once cooked there seems to be three parts to remaining tamarind....
there is a layer of paste you can scrape off...Then under that paste there seems to be another layer covering the seeds... Then under that layer there is seeds. I was wondering what this other layer is(between the paste and the seeds)? Is it edible? Does this layer turn into the paste if you cook it longer? or is it a non-edible seed covering? Do you mush this layer along with the tamarind paste layer and just take the dark brownish seeds out?

I've never used the fresh pods. I usually buy a compressed block of the seeds and surroundings. It gets soaked in boiling water and strained.

I think it's all edible, except for the pod covers and seeds. I got some tamarind pods from the Asian market, haven't done anything with them yet except to eat the pulp from a couple.