Self-Cleaning Gas Oven

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CarolPa

Executive Chef
This is my first time with a self-cleaning oven. I would like to know about other's experiences. I am afraid of having the oven going at such a high heat. My friend won't use her "self clean" feature because the one time she tried it, it set off the smoke detector. She cleans it by hand. I don't want to do that. I want to be not afraid to use the self clean feature.

I have a self-cleaning gas oven and have been self cleaning it for 13 years.

If the self cleaning cycle sets off the smoke detectors, it's because the oven really needed cleaning.

These ovens are made for the high heat. The temp goes up around 900º F to burn off all the spills etc and turn them to ash which wipes out with a damp cloth. If there are a lot of spills, there will be smoke. Open the windows and go for it.

If you leave the shelves in the oven, they will not be shiny bright any more but they will be cleaned.

Follow the instructions in the manual.

Thanks! A couple days ago I cooked chicken in it and I left it in too long and there is chicken grease spattered all over the oven. I think I will try cleaning the shelves by hand before I try the self cleaning. I would rather not dull the finish on the shelves since this is a new appliance. Want to keep it shining as long as I can!

Today is a cool day, so we have the windows open anyway. How long does the self clean cycle take?

My oven has a default setting of 4 hours but it can be set to longer if the oven is really dirty. A little grease splatter from a chicken isn't very much. I have had a banana bread spill over and fall into the oven.

You really don't have to clean it after one messy roast. Usually, if I can smell the oven when it's preheating I know it's time to clean it.