Pickling Process/Your go to?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dc2123

Cook
Ok so i've been curious in experimenting with pickling different types of foods.

I have never done it before so I am curious to hear the steps of pickling and what your favorite things to pickle are.

Thanks!

We make a quick style pickle about every other week. They are 1/2 sours and use water, garlic, fresh dill fronds, pickling salt and garlic cloves as a base. We often add red pepper flakes. Since these are done in about 72 hours, the crock/jars are only cleaned with hot water and dish detergent. It does not require the ultra cleanliness needed for canning. If I am making sauerbraten, I use vinegar, water and pickling spices for the beef. It will set in the pickling liquid for up to 7 days, depending on how "sour" you want the beef.;)

We make a quick style pickle about every other week. They are 1/2 sours and use water, garlic, fresh dill fronds, pickling salt and garlic cloves as a base. We often add red pepper flakes. Since these are done in about 72 hours, the crock/jars are only cleaned with hot water and dish detergent. It does not require the ultra cleanliness needed for canning. If I am making sauerbraten, I use vinegar, water and pickling spices for the beef. It will set in the pickling liquid for up to 7 days, depending on how "sour" you want the beef.;)
Is that for cucumber pickles? Is it a fermentation process?

No, it is a Jewish style pickle. It uses whole kirbys. There were several Jewish delis that always had these setting on the tables, booths and counter. I fell in love with a particular deli's 1/2 sours and potato latkes. The place was called Corky's.

I love pickled green beans, pickled beets, and freezer pickles.