A picnic to impress?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wanda1989

Assistant Cook
I really need menu ideas - I'm trying to put together a picnic to impress a certain someone. I'm a decent cook and competent at baking, however I'm completely out of ideas - finding recipes which will travel well enough and are coherent together is really difficult.

One of the attendees is vegetarian, one can't eat chocolate and another is allergic to nuts.

So my criteria are:
- Taste amazing, look really impressive
- Recipes which travel well (won't go off/soggy/squashed/result in food poisoning)
-are mainly vegetarian (gelatine etc... is acceptable. Just no actual meat or fish.)
- Nut free
- Chocolate free

If it can be prepped in advance that would also be amazing.

Happy to consider themed menus (e.g asian/chinese/thai etc...)

Cookery skill isn't a problem - I'm happy to handle pastry, plaitted breads, Pierre Herme's patisserie etc... (just not macarons. They are my nemesis.)

Ideas please? :)

Last edited:
Sounds like you have your work cut out for yourself. Its hard to cook for people who can't eat anything!

That aside. You can make dishes to please everyone. My thoughts are, colorful pasta dishes, fancy fruit baskets, and mabe some veg sushi. Cheese cake is also popular.

What is the setting? Is it an outdoor picnic? Have you teh means to keep food hot, or cold?

Italian would be a great theme, with maybe a tomato Aspic, Crusty bread to put the aspic on, maybe toast points. Include olives, pickles, or pickled veggies. A lite pastry would travel well for desert, like a cheese danish, or filled, yeast-raised doughnut, long-john, or eclair. Profiteroles would also work.

Other ideas might be baked beans, good bread, apple cider, and fried chunks of tofu, seasoned with a bit of liquid smoke.