ISO help/advice with the proper quantity of yeast

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joesfolk

Head Chef
I have been gifted a large quantity of yeast but it is in a form I have never used before. It is not granular. Is a solid brick of yeast which is at this moment frozen. Does anyone know how I would use this? How much would I use in a recipe for bread that calls for 3 cups of flour?

Is it instant yeast? When I buy that, it is in a brick, like vacuum packed coffee and feels solid, but once opened it is granular. It can be used the same as active dry yeast.

I have been gifted a large quantity of yeast but it is in a form I have never used before. It is not granular. Is a solid brick of yeast which is at this moment frozen. Does anyone know how I would use this? How much would I use in a recipe for bread that calls for 3 cups of flour?
If it's frozen it's probably "fresh" yeast (a contradiction in terms, I know) ie it isn't dried or instant yeast.

It would have been easier if you had portioned it before it was frozen but a good sharp or serrated edged knife (like a bread knife) should do the trick. Cut it into one ounce portions and get it back into the freezer asap before it thaws out. It will remain good in its frozen state for at least 3 months, possibly longer.