Tide Detergent now downsizing!!?!!?!?!?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Instead of raising prices they usually reduce the size hopping you don't catch it. Like a gallon of orange juice is now 59 oz instead of 64; 4 lb bags of sugar.

This is the first I've seen this for the reasoning.

Now it is like a watered down product now... No way can you lose that many loads with that little of change in the size of the bottle.

I can't really relate to this since I've been making our own laundry detergent for many years. What we use is about $5.00 USD for about 10 gallons of liquid detergent. Cleans as well as Tide. And let me say that I used to be a Tide user that would NEVER use anything else.

I agree about making my own. I used to make a very cheap DYI version and it was okay. I have added a couple of things that make it a bit more expensive but still MUCH cheaper than anything you can buy and I actually like it more than Tide. Will never buy traditional laundry detergent again.

I buy a bottle 32 load size for a couple of bucks at ALDI, I've never seen an improvement in cleaning when I bought name brands. I don't have kids getting super dirty so maybe that makes a difference.

We can't use Tide at our house because everyone breaks out in a rash if I use Tide.
But Tide is not the only thing with shrinking packages. A "1/2 gallon" of name brand ice cream is now 1-3/4 or 1-1/2 quarts.

Years ago the Tide box was huge. You used a measuring cup and used a full cup of soap powder. Then they said they reformulated it so you didn't need as much and you got a much smaller box and a little measuring cup inside. I kept the first little measuring cup rather than throwing it out when I bought a new box, and I noticed over time that those little cups kept getting bigger and bigger, making you use a little more each time.