Under cabinet lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

roadfix

Chef Extraordinaire
The very old, ugly, and outdated florescent kitchen counter under cabinet lighting fixtures have been giving me trouble lately so I decided to replace them with a do-it-yourself 12-volt LED tape strips. I've never worked with these tape strips before but for about $25 (roll of LED lights, transformer, switch, and splices) to do about 15 feet of under cabinet lighting it certainly was a bargain. I got them in the mail today.
I watched a few U-tube videos on this so installation should be a breeze... These are not rope lights, but a long continuous adhesive tape with LED circuitry printed on it.
I'm looking forward to installing these and I'll post pics...

I'm interested in this too. Looking forward to your results

Sent from my iPhone using Discuss Cooking

I'll be interested to see what brand he uses and how they work. Some strip lights are only bright enough for accent, others serve as functional workspace lighting. Some users said that it takes a bit of thought to hide the transformer if they aren't hard wired.

Trying to figure it all out shopping online without seeing any actual samples is difficult. I read reviews and one person rates them 5 stars and good for everything, while the next says they are okay, but not bright enough for solo use. I just come away confused. :(

I ordered the individual components from a single vendor on eBay totaling $25, free shipping.

This evening I held a short length of this tape light under the cabinet and it was as bright or brighter than the original fluorescent fixtures. My wife thought it was too bright. I can always order an in-line dimmer from the same vendor any time.