Canned Potatoes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jhazel1993

Assistant Cook
Hi, The other day i was given 3 cans of potatoes. I have never used these before, so wondering if anyone has any recipes for them.

I was thinking of cutting them into little wedges and adding some seasoning and cooking in the oven.
not sure how they will turn though.

so yeah ideas would be great?

Welcome to DC! I'd either donate them or they would go straight into the circular file. Bad childhood memory.:mad:

Thank you Craig!

Are they really that bad? They do look rather anemic! I have never had them before. :)

If they are new potatoes (small?) they might go well in a potato salad, e.g. with mayo, spring onions or chives.

My mother - the Queen of Convenience Foods - used to feed them to us in the 1960's. I don't think she ever bought a fresh potato.

Warmed up right out of the can, they are nasty things. But if you slice them and fry them up in a skillet with plenty of onion, they are tolerable. I wouldn't use them in a potato salad because they are pretty watery. You need to fry them up a bit to dry them out, and you need the strong flavor of the onion to mask the tinny flavor of the potatoes.

Last edited:
My in-laws had some in their pantry when we went there to cook for my FIL after my MIL was placed in a rehab facility. I don't know how they used them, but I made a dish with sauerkraut, beer and mustard and put it on top of the potatoes (sliced) with a grilled bratwurst sausage on top of that. He liked it.

You could also make German potato salad with them. The onion, bacon and vinegar should give them some good flavor.

Thanks everyone, i will fry them with onions and a pepper ( i have a red pepper looking miserable in the veg box) and i also have some stir-fry veg which i might add? And maybe add a stir-fry sauce?

Last edited: