Canning jars on their side

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

orfeo

Assistant Cook
Hi,

I made this recipe (not including the honey) and canned it in a large mason jar (sterilized the jars for 10 min). However i had to lie the jar on it's side to fully cover it. I did get a good seal on the lid (a loud pop sound when it was cooling and lid looks well sealed). I did have two questions however as this is my first time canning.

A) Can you lie the jar on their sides in the hot water bath? I know they're meant to stand upright to ensure no food ruins the seal but given i have a good seal am i in the clear?

B) Does anyone know if this recipe would even be well suited to canning? I'm obviously wary of botulism.

Thanks
orfeo

Here are the ingredients:

• ⅔ cup dried black elderberries (about 3 ounces)
  • 3½ cups of water
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh or dried ginger root
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • ½ teaspoon cloves or clove powder
  • 1 cup raw honey (we get from our farmer's market)
Sugar and Honey have a role in preserving. Canning 101: Sugar's Role in Home Preserved Food - Food in Jars

I wouldn't expect this syrup to hold up long without sugar or honey in it. Whether it will hold up with the jar being on it's side, I don't think it is a good idea at all.

That sure doesn't sound like a welcome to DC, but you are welcome to DC. We are all here to gain from each other's experience.

Last edited:
Welcome to DC!

I agree with blissful and Kgirl. I think if you can it again, you might want to put it in smaller jars to make sure the water covers the jars. And it needs honey or sugar as a preservative. Put yours in the fridge.

Last edited:
Hi,