A Little Microwave Science (Very little)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chief Longwind Of The North

Certified/Certifiable
There was recently a thread where the topic of microwave ovens became a source of contention. I have some scientific background and physics background as well. As a matter of point, I have a B.S. in Electrical Engineering Technology. It's what I'm trained in. And with that said, I would like to share some little known info about microwave radiation.

First, microwave energy, as the stuff emitted in a microwave oven, is the very same kind of energy emitted by your cell phone, by television transmitters, by radar, by lasers, by radio antennas, and a host of other common place facets of our modern civilization. Even the older computer screens and televisions, i.e. cathode ray picture tubes, emitted the same kind of energy. And what is this mysterious stuff anyway? You might have heard of it on the show Ghost Hunters, where it's referred to as EMF, or as an electro-magnetic-field.

Electro-magentic fields are produced any time an eletric current passes through a conductor, such as a piece of wire. So when you are turning on the lights in your home, you cause electro-magentic fields to radiate throughout your home.