Advice for a new cook...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hamlet_cat

Assistant Cook
Hi, I am a new cook and I tend to get very frustrated. I have recently had to go on a special diet to fix some of my health issues. However, it requires that I pretty much have to work with whole foods and cook everything from scratch. The great thing is that when I hit on something it tastes amazing but then there are a lot of other times when I produce something that tastes awful and I have to throw it out. I hate wasting food so I sometimes eat it anyways, but I will admit it is so frustrating.

My husband is also not all that supportive with all my experimenting. He says I should just stick with our old ways because they worked. But he is a basics person and will and can eat almost anything North American. However he isn't all that crazy about ethnic foods. One of the worst stories I have had was that I had a dinner party for my friends and used "real" frozen cranberries instead of the sugary coated ones in a salad. It totally destroyed the taste of the salad and no one ate it. Oops. I am at the point now where I realize that some things compliment each other and some things just do not, when it comes to taste and palatability.

I realize it is all a learning process and it just takes time. Good cooks are probably made not born. Any advice to relieve some of my frustration would be great. It will give me some inspiration not to give up on it. Thanks in advance!