Electric Smokers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

auburnribs

Assistant Cook
Hey ya'll. I'm new to smoking and thinking about buying my first smoker. I was wondering if you guys had any opinions on what type or brand of smoker is best? I am looking into an electric smoker made by Masterbuilt. Any thoughts?

Welcome to DC! We have some excellent smokers here who no doubt will be by shortly. Meanwhile, have a look around.

Howdy!
Welcome to D.C.!
I reckon electric smokers would do the trick. My preference is charcoal or wood, which can be used in places where there ain't no electricity. Likely someone here has tried or uses one.

I'm with Hoot. Back in the day I was a purist... charcoal or wood only. That's the way to go if your schedule allows it. I just don't have the time anymore.

I'm not sure what your price range is. Traeger is hands down the way to go for an electric smoker. It burns hardwood pellets about the size and shape of rabbit food. Since the fuel is of uniform size temperature can be precisely controlled. The bin holds enough for 10-12 hours of unattended smoke time.

Here is a thread showing the Traeger in action...

http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f36/tnt-smoked-chicken-breast-process-69930.html

I recently purchased a Smokin-it Model #3 and am pretty happy so far. They do make smaller, cheaper ones too.

If you go with the Masterbuilt read all the reviews you can find. The ones I've read have been mixed. There are complaints about reliability and build quality but I've never seen one so it's just hearsay.