Getting cookware from closed down restaurants?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MobiusKayak

Assistant Cook
Hi all, first post here!

So I'm a recent college grad planning to move out of my parents I remember house, and I'm excited to finally start stocking my own kitchen!

I remember reading in Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential that one should try buying cooking utensils from restaurants that have recently closed down. Has anyone done this or know how to go about it? I can't seem to figure it out. Googling "recently closed restaurants" in my area doesn't really turn up anything. I just need some high-quality, thick-bottomed pots and pans, and maybe even silverware for relatively cheap.

I have already picked out a good chef's knife and a cast iron pan, as those are items I'm willing to invest a fair amount of money in.

Suggestions?

General tips on starting my first collection of cookware also appreciated.

Last edited:
Just seek out the restaurant supply store in your area. They already have pretty good prices on professional grade equipment. I buy lots of stuff there.

For used stuff, have you checked Craigslist?

Just seek out the restaurant supply store in your area. They already have pretty good prices on professional grade equipment. I buy lots of stuff there.

For used stuff, have you checked Craigslist?

I second the restaurant supply store suggestion. There are several in my rural area and I've purchased lots of wonderful items.

Another area I've found to be quite "fertile" are resale stores such as thrift and consignment stores, especially if you can identify an item. I bought two perfect madeline pans for 25 cents each at a thrift store because they had no idea what they were. Salvation Army and Goodwill have been fantastic sources.