How to steam a cooking pumpkin??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

billbo24

Assistant Cook
I am a beginner. I can't work out if it's possible to use a pale harder flesh cooking pumpkin & still steam it? or perhaps microwave it? I don't want to bake it for 40 minutes every time I do it?

Although I've never cooked or steamed pumpkin before so I don't know how to do it. Bare in mind it's sold as a cooking pumpkin which I thought meant it was the only one that's nice enough to eat.

What do I do as the net doesn't answer my concerns.

Thanks!

First, I.ve used may a jack-o-lantern pumpkin for cooking, and for pies. They are a winter squash, and taste great. Supposedly, the smaller pie pumpkins are supposed tp be sweeter in flavor, and many swear that you have to use the ones labeled as pie pumpkins. That just isn't true. Jack-o-lantern pumpkins taste just like Hubbard squash, with the texture of acorn squash. Pie pumpkins are simply smaller, and so a little easier to work with.

As for cooking, yes, they can be stemmed, boiled, baked, or cooked in the microwave. Simply cut them from top to bottom into 2 to 3 inch wedges, and peel with vegetable peeler. Scrape off seeds, and keep for baking, or for planting in your garden next year. Cut into chunks to fit into cooking vessel, and cook accordingly.