ISO good manually-operated grinder

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Daizymae

Washing Up
Maybe this has been discussed here in the past, but I am not good with using the "Search".

I would like a simple, manually operated, Nut and Seed Grinder that won't break down in a month's time.

Can anyone help me? Thank you so much. :)

Mortar and pestle. Ceramic. The problem with grinding nuts and seeds manually is that they contain oil, and that makes them soft enough once you get started to clog burr-type grinders like hand-crank coffee mills. If you are grinding nutmeats coarsely there are several good little hand operated grinders, generally having steel "fingers" on an axle with a crank. Some have glass jars incorporated into their workings to catch the pieces. Avoid such grinders with plastic "fingers." They are unreliable. But generally, for nuts and seeds, I recommend a ceramic mortar and pestle. They are inexpensive and readily available. For my own personal use, I have Kitchen Aid blade type coffee grinder with a removable stainless steel cup, and I also sometimes use the dry container on my Vita Mix.

Last edited:
Do you mean a good ol' suribachi? Mine broke after some years but it never occurred to me to use it for nuts, too. Tks. for replying!

Ummm, not exactly...I think a suribachi is made for grinding salt, but, yeah, that could work. I just think a ceramic mortar with a ceramic pestle might work better.

Ummm, not exactly...I think a suribachi is made for grinding salt, but, yeah, that could work. I just think a ceramic mortar with a ceramic pestle might work better.

I honestly don't know the original purpose for developing the suribachi, so I looked it up on gourmetsleuth. Well, things actually happened in reverse, ie, once this neat device was invented, the Japanese apparently liked it so much they developed dishes around it.