Knife for the wife

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
She should join us! We'd love to hear from her what she thinks of the knife she gets and how she likes the knife class. :)

I'll let her know. She'll probably just post on here w/ my account.

So now I was about to order the VF Chef's knife, and lo and behold the deal of the week of Cutlery and more is a 7" Furi Santoku for $19. My wife was looking over my shoulder while I was on the site, and saw it, and said, "ooh, what is that? Let's get it!". Sigh. I had my plan all ready, and now a fork in the road.

So I read some reviews. Some good, some bad. Anyone have this knife? Thoughts? Again, the knife I am ordering now is most likely going to be mine for grilling. I am not that good with a knife, so most likely anything will work for me. However, if my wife likes the Furi (which is sponsored by Rachel Ray, although that doesn't make me want it, or make me not want it) or the VF, we'll stick with those. (I highly doubt that will happen though...she really liked the Miyabi).

So here is the link. Thoughts? Thanks.

Furi Rachael Ray Gusto Grip Hollow Edge Santoku Knife - Furi 7-inch Rachael Ray Gusto Grip Hollow Edge Santoku Knife | cutleryandmore.com

Has she even checked knife handles, yet, to see what fits in her hand? To me that should be the first consideration.

Has she even checked knife handles, yet, to see what fits in her hand? To me that should be the first consideration.

Yep, she has. We went to Sur La Table and tried every knife they had. She fell in love with the Miyabi Kaizen 5.5" Santoku. She said it just felt right in her hand.

Yep, she has. We went to Sur La Table and tried every knife they had. She fell in love with the Miyabi Kaizen 5.5" Santoku. She said it just felt right in her hand.