Mushrooms

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

debbie24

Senior Cook
hi everyone, i'm new to mushrooms and i have a few questions. HOpe someone can help. These questions are about button mushrooms.

1. how do you know if they are bad?
2. can you cut them up and freeze them if you dont plan on using them soon?
3. I bought some about a week and a half ago from the supermarket, any chance they are still good.
4. What is the longest you have kept yours in the refrig before using.

Thanks

First off - forget about the big-time myth that you shouldn't wash them before using. Alton Brown did a show on this & proved that mushrooms don't absorb extra water while being rinsed off.

You'll know they're bad because they'll be slimy/black/mushy - it will be obvious that they are bad.

Mushrooms don't freeze well raw, but you can cook them first & then freeze them. The reduced mushroom "condiment" (duxelles) is frequently made in bulk by some folks & frozen. If you freeze them raw, they'll defrost ugly/slimy.

I've had mushrooms last a couple of weeks in the fridge - particularly shitakes, which seem to take long storage well. Mushrooms will last longer with some access to air - if the ones you bought are still tightly wrapped in plastic, they might be bad by now.

The button mushrooms don't last too long. If their gills are showing they are old. I don't care for a button mush unless it's perfectly fresh and white - a long lasting symtom from my first pregnancy years ago. I like baby bellas. They are good fresh and cooked and last longer then the button shrooms.

If the mushroom feels slimy, I don't use it. Button mushrooms have a fairly short lifespan...I'd not go past three or four days myself (I mean the mushrooms, of course...not me).

Answer for