Mustard Rub

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Korben

Assistant Cook
I am very new to the BBQ world. I am finally at a time in my life where I have the money and time to actually do it on a regular basis. I love all kinds of BBQ but now I am interested in making a mustard style rub possibly for ribs... (does this sound ok)? I have heard alot of people using plain mustard as a "glue" for their rubs but I want something that gives the nice mustard taste. Also, any mustard sauce/glaze recipes would be great to. I did run a few searches and didn't find anything on the forum, but I am sure I could have missed something. Thanks.

Welcome to the BBQC Forum. This Forum is a great resource for sauces, rubs and everything BBQ, but if you cannot find it here try Amazing Ribs site http://tinyurl.com/7pbxev. I did not see a mustard rub, but there were some mustard sauces. I'm sure you will get some great responses here as there are a number of rub and sauce manufacturers on this Forum. Again welcome to the Forum.

Found this down a few threads. Hope it helps.

Originally Posted on TVWB by John Mason July 7, 2004

South Central Carolina Gold

1-1/2 cup prepared mustard
5 Tbsp brown sugar
4 Tbsp tomato paste
3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 cup water

Combine and simmer for 5 minutes to dissolve sugar

SW Comments: I love this stuff with pork or beef, I add 1 TBSP dehydrated minced onion and make it a little sweeter, I use Demerra sugar

yeah I saw that sauce recipe I was thinking about trying that. I would also like to throw a rub on there too.

And thanks for the welcome bbquzz!

Not that I've used it, but perhaps some specialty mustards inside a dry rub might do the trick. But ya, I use mustard as the glue for my pulled pork. Check my vids out (signature).