Potato Masher Redesign

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chriscamp

Assistant Cook
Hello,
I am an Industrial Design student at the University of Alberta. I am working on a research oriented design project that requires me to choose an item (a hand held potato masher) and redesign it with the help of communication with the end user. The idea is that by designing it with specific help from the people who use an item most, a better or more suitable tool can be created. What you guys can do to help is simply answer a few questions (which I will post below) and then hopefully engage in a dialog with me as I develop and prototype an improved potato masher.

The following is a sampling of existing potato masher designs.

images

images

images

images

images

Of the five mashers shown, which is most like the one you use? If you use something completely different, please describe it or provide a link that shows yours.

Where do you primarily use it? (In a professional kitchen or at home?)

What motivated you to pick the one that you currently use? Price, feel, appearance, functionality?

Were your expectations met?

If not, what would you change or improve?

What about your potato masher do you think is good? What features are the most important to you? (Rigidity, comfort, afford-ability, safe for use on non-stick products, ease of cleaning, etc.)

Finally, what is the maximum price you would be willing to pay for the best hand powered potato masher you can imagine? Please specify which currency you are thinking of.

Thank you in advance for your time and consideration. I will keep all names and personal information private unless you give me explicit permission. Again, this is just being used for a school report.

non of those are any good, garbage as the matter of fact.
# 1 isn't going to mash anything