Propane grill losing gas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

taxlady

Chef Extraordinaire
Moderator Emeritus
I have a MasterCraft propane grill. It seems to have a leak. The propane is getting used up far too fast. This is the second tank where this is happening. I was thinking I should get some soapy water and try to find a leak. Any suggestions of how to do this? Do I spritz the soapy water on hoses, connectors, etc.? Do I did a sponge in the soapy water and somehow get it onto the hose, etc.? I remember seeing a plumber do this to check a connection on a stove, but I don't remember what he did to get the water onto the connection.

Usually if the grill has a leak internally, I would imagine it would catch fire. I would suspect a seal is leaking around the tank or possibly the connecting hose is faulty. I use propane for the crawfish cooker and once noticed that the tank valve was cracked (I exchange tanks instead of getting them refilled) and leaked when the valve was open. So it might not be the grill at all. Do you get your tank(s) refilled or do you exchange them? I think exchanged tanks are more likely to suffer abuse.

I would use a sponge around the connections from the tank. Without the grill burning open the valve and douse with the soapy water, use lots of soap in the water. Start with the connection at the tank and work up to where it connects to the burner stem. If nothing there, take the grates out of the grill so you can see the burners exposed and light the grill. you may have a burned out hole in the line to the burner or the burner it's self.

If its leaking from the grill itself, then turn off the gas when finished.
If its the tank, have it checked.
Pressure tested.
Or just buy a new one or exchange the leaking one. Blue Rhino and others test the tanks before they are available for sale or rent.