Should restaurants give out recipes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
i would have paid $50k for the marinade used on jimmy armstrong's pork chops, they were that good... :chef:

Mario Botali said of this restaurant that he felt like burning his own restaurant down and moving to London to work for the master.
I plucked up courage to eat there 2 yrs ago with my offal loving kid brother.
Ask for a recipe I did not want to read the bloody menu, John ordered and it was amazing.
I will eat most things but brains ect are not my bag. I ate everything he ordered with sunglasses on.http://www.stjohnrestaurant.com

When I worked in the tourism industry (a lifetime ago), I ate at some very nice restaurants. I asked for and received many excellent recipes. I am hesitant to share those recipes even with my dearest friend because I don't know that the recipient will identify the source of the recipe. We all pass recipes around. I recently found a link that I had posted here was actually a recipe that had originally appeared in a magazine. The website where I stumbled across the recipe did not credit the magazine. That's a violation of copyright. Protecting copyright has become a challenge because of the Internet. Just because it is on the Internet, doesn't mean that someone doesn't own the copyright. If the owner (in this case, a magazine) has it on the Internet, a link provided rather than reproducing the recipe unless one receives expressed permission to do so. In this particular case, the blogger even used the photo of the dish that was in the magazine, so the photographer's copyright is also violated (unless the magazine bought the rights). In Canada, expressed permission can only be in writing (not email, it must be in writing) and must be requested each and every time one wishes to reproduce the material that is protected by copyright. There is a requirement to acknowled