linicx
Senior Cook
The list contains Soy, Corn, Gluten, Fiber and Seven Hidden Allergens found in commpn products like toothpaste.
Allergic to Soy? Avoid these (incomplete list)
0. Green soybeans (edamame)
0. Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
0. Infant formulas, soy-based
0. Lecithin (extracted from soy oil, though safe for a majority of soy-allergic people)
0. Meat alternatives (meat analogs)
0. Miso
0. Natto
0. Non-dairy soy frozen dessert
0. Oyster sauce (most brands contain soy protein)
0. Soy cheese
0. Soy fiber
0. Okara
0. Soy bran
0. Soy isolate fiber (also known as structured protein fiber [SPF])
0. Soy flour (used in most muffins, some doughnuts, many breads, and other bakery goods)
0. Soy grits
0. Soy protein concentrate
0. Soy protein isolates (isolated soy protein)
0. Soy protein, textured
0. Textured soy flour (TSF)
0. Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
0. Tuna (canned, “packed in water”—read the fine print: most contain vegetable broth, which is made from soybeans)
0. Soy sauce (tamari, shoyu, teriyaki sauce)
0. Soy yogurt
0. Soy beans, whole
0. Soy milk and beverages
0. Soy nut butter
0. Soy nuts
0. Soy oil (though safe for a majority of soy-allergic people)
0. Sprouts, soy
0. Tempeh
0. Tofu and tofu products
0. Vegetable broth (frequently contains hydrolyzed vegetable protein from soy
0. Whipped toppings, soy-based
Yuba
Chocolate
Mayonnaise
Margerine
Oats
Corn Allergies?
Sea Salt only (Table salt includes Dextrose)
Beverages to avoid:
0. Coffee Rich
0. Evaporated milk
0. Frozen orange juice (except Minute Maid)
0. Gin, whiskey, and any alcoholic beverage or soft drink containing malt, malt syrup, or malt extract
0. Hawaiian Punch
0. Hi-C
0. Infant formulas, some (Enfamil, Modilac, and Similac)
0. Instant coffee
0. Mott’s Apple Juice
Fruits to avoid:
0. Candied fruits, canned fruits, and dried fruits that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Frozen and sweetened fruits that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Fruit desserts that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Dairy to avoid:
0. Ice cream and sherbets that contain corn syrup of HFCS
0. Flavored yogurts that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Vegetables to avoid:
0. Corn
0. Hominy
0. Ketchup that contains corn syrup or HFCS
0. Succotash
Baking ingredients to avoid:
0. Baking powders, most (corn-free baking powders are available that use arrowroot powder or potato starch instead of cornstarch)
0. Carmel coloring (may contain corn syrup)
0. Cornstarch
0. Cornmeal
0. Vanilla extract (many brands contain corn syrup; some brands do not)
0. Yeast (except Red Star dry yeast)
Baked goods to avoid:
0. Commercial backed goods that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Biscuits, Bisquick, and pancake mixes that contain corn syrup
0. Granola bars and cookies that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Modified cornstarch
0. Pie crusts and cake mixes that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Cereals to avoid:
0. Cereals listing corn, corn syrup, or HFCS on labels
0. Corn flakes
0. Grits
0. Pre-sweetened cereals (most)
Sweeteners to avoid:
0. Confectioners sugar (many brands contain cornstarch; some do not)
0. “Corn sugar”
0. Corn syrup
0. Dextrose (iodized table salt contains dextrose)
0. “Fruit sugar”
0. Glucose
0. Golden syrup
0. High fructose corn syrup (HFCS)
0. “Invert sugar,” “invert syrup”
0. Malt, malt syrup, and malt extract
0. Sucrose labeled “from corn”
0. Treacle
Desserts and snacks to avoid:
0. Candy, frostings, and carob desserts that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Fritos
0. Graham crackers
0. Jellies, jams, and peanut butter that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Jello
0. Marshmallows
0. Popcorn
0. Products containing xanthan gum
0. Puddings that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Meats to avoid:
0. Bacon and cooked meats in gravies that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Cured ham, sausages, and wieners that contain corn syrup, HFCS, or glucono-delta lactone (GDL)
0. Luncheon meats and sandwich spreads that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Medicines to avoid:
0. Dextrose is common in IV solutions.
0. Most solid or liquid medicines and dietary supplements contain cornstarch. Inquire to the manufacturer, because excipients (additional ingredients) may not necessarily appear on the label.
Miscellaneous products to avoid:
0. Bath or body powder (may contain corn starch)
0. Corn oil is used in emollient creams and toothpastes.
0. Corn syrup is often used as a texturizer and carrying agent in cosmetics.
0. Envelopes, labels, stickers, stamps, and tape may contain corn.
0. Plastic wrap, paper cups and plates can be coated with corn oil.
0. Some plastic food wrappers contain corn.
0. Sorbitol in oral hygiene products (mouthwash and toothpaste) is commercially produced from corn.
0. Zest soap
Best bets
The following foods are good replacements for corn in the diet:
0. Barley
0. Buckwheat
0. Millet
0. Oats
0. Potatoes
0. Rice
0. Rye
0. Spelt (a type of wheat)
0. Sweet potatoes
Wheat
Allergic to Gluten?
0. Do not eat anything that contains the following grains: wheat, rye, and barley.
0. The following can be eaten in any amount: corn, potato, rice, soybeans, tapioca, arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth and quinoa.
0. Distilled white vinegar does not contain gluten.
0. Malt vinegar does contain gluten.
Grains are used in the processing of many ingredients, so it will be necessary to seek out hidden gluten. The following terms found in food labels may mean that there is gluten in the product.
0. Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP), unless made from soy or corn
0. Flour or Cereal products, unless made with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour, or soy flour
0. Vegetable Protein unless made from soy or corn
0. Malt or Malt Flavoring unless derived from corn
0. Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy maize, or maize is used
0. Vegetable Gum unless vegetable gums are carob bean gum, locust bean gum, cellulose gum, guar gum, gum arabic, gum aracia, gum tragacanth, xanthan gum, or vegetable starch
0. Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids unless you know they do not contain wheat
Any of the following words on food labels usually means that a grain containing gluten has been used
0. stabilizer
0. starch
0. flavoring
0. emulsifier
0. hydrolyzed
plant protein
Allergic to Wheat?
0. Barley
0. Commercial Oats*
0. Malt
0. Couscous
0. Durum
0. Spelt
0. Kamut
0. Bulgar
0. Farina
0. Semolina
0. Einkorn
0. Farro _
Grains Allowed on a Gluten-Free Diet
0. Rice
0. Potato
0. Corn
0. Pure, uncontaminated oats*
0. Quinoa
0. Tapioca
0. Buckwheat
0. Yam
0. Teff
0. Amaranth
0. Arrowroot flour
0. Gelatin
0. Xanthan gum) Added to wheat free, Gluten Free Breads
0. Guar gum ) ditto
0. Sorghum
0.
* According to the Canadian Celiac Association, clinical evidence confirms that eating pure, uncontaminated oats is safe in the amount of 50 to 70 grams per day by adults and 20 to 25 grams per day by children with celiac disease. However, some people may not tolerate even the purest uncontaminated oats. So speak to your doctor before introducing oats to a gluten-free diet.
Sweat-Free Baking with Special Flour Blend
Since no single flour can replace wheat flour, baking is the biggest challenge in a gluten-free kitchen. Carol Fenster, PhD, author of Gluten-Free Quick & Easy, suggested mixing 1.5 cups sorghum flour, 1.5 cups potato starch, and 1 cup tapioca flour together to use as a replacement for wheat flour when baking.
The Bottom Line
ALWAYS check food labels and look for the "Gluten-Free" claim or logo. Gluten isn't always found where you expect it to be. For instance, some chocolate or sweetened milk may contain malt or wheat starch. Processed meat like luncheon meat and frozen meat patties may contain fillers made from wheat. For a complete list of foods to avoid and gluten-free food products, refer to Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide written by Shelley Case, RD. This book is a must-have!
Understanding Fiber
Soluble fiber slows down digestion in the stomach and intestines, thus stabilizing blood glucose levels, and may also increase the uptake of minerals and other nutrients during digestion. Insoluble fiber improves health in the intestinal tract by increasing stool volume and stimulating normal bowel contractions thus reducing passage-time through the colon.
Continued .......
Allergic to Soy? Avoid these (incomplete list)
0. Green soybeans (edamame)
0. Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
0. Infant formulas, soy-based
0. Lecithin (extracted from soy oil, though safe for a majority of soy-allergic people)
0. Meat alternatives (meat analogs)
0. Miso
0. Natto
0. Non-dairy soy frozen dessert
0. Oyster sauce (most brands contain soy protein)
0. Soy cheese
0. Soy fiber
0. Okara
0. Soy bran
0. Soy isolate fiber (also known as structured protein fiber [SPF])
0. Soy flour (used in most muffins, some doughnuts, many breads, and other bakery goods)
0. Soy grits
0. Soy protein concentrate
0. Soy protein isolates (isolated soy protein)
0. Soy protein, textured
0. Textured soy flour (TSF)
0. Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
0. Tuna (canned, “packed in water”—read the fine print: most contain vegetable broth, which is made from soybeans)
0. Soy sauce (tamari, shoyu, teriyaki sauce)
0. Soy yogurt
0. Soy beans, whole
0. Soy milk and beverages
0. Soy nut butter
0. Soy nuts
0. Soy oil (though safe for a majority of soy-allergic people)
0. Sprouts, soy
0. Tempeh
0. Tofu and tofu products
0. Vegetable broth (frequently contains hydrolyzed vegetable protein from soy
0. Whipped toppings, soy-based
Yuba
Chocolate
Mayonnaise
Margerine
Oats
Corn Allergies?
Sea Salt only (Table salt includes Dextrose)
Beverages to avoid:
0. Coffee Rich
0. Evaporated milk
0. Frozen orange juice (except Minute Maid)
0. Gin, whiskey, and any alcoholic beverage or soft drink containing malt, malt syrup, or malt extract
0. Hawaiian Punch
0. Hi-C
0. Infant formulas, some (Enfamil, Modilac, and Similac)
0. Instant coffee
0. Mott’s Apple Juice
Fruits to avoid:
0. Candied fruits, canned fruits, and dried fruits that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Frozen and sweetened fruits that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Fruit desserts that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Dairy to avoid:
0. Ice cream and sherbets that contain corn syrup of HFCS
0. Flavored yogurts that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Vegetables to avoid:
0. Corn
0. Hominy
0. Ketchup that contains corn syrup or HFCS
0. Succotash
Baking ingredients to avoid:
0. Baking powders, most (corn-free baking powders are available that use arrowroot powder or potato starch instead of cornstarch)
0. Carmel coloring (may contain corn syrup)
0. Cornstarch
0. Cornmeal
0. Vanilla extract (many brands contain corn syrup; some brands do not)
0. Yeast (except Red Star dry yeast)
Baked goods to avoid:
0. Commercial backed goods that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Biscuits, Bisquick, and pancake mixes that contain corn syrup
0. Granola bars and cookies that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Modified cornstarch
0. Pie crusts and cake mixes that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Cereals to avoid:
0. Cereals listing corn, corn syrup, or HFCS on labels
0. Corn flakes
0. Grits
0. Pre-sweetened cereals (most)
Sweeteners to avoid:
0. Confectioners sugar (many brands contain cornstarch; some do not)
0. “Corn sugar”
0. Corn syrup
0. Dextrose (iodized table salt contains dextrose)
0. “Fruit sugar”
0. Glucose
0. Golden syrup
0. High fructose corn syrup (HFCS)
0. “Invert sugar,” “invert syrup”
0. Malt, malt syrup, and malt extract
0. Sucrose labeled “from corn”
0. Treacle
Desserts and snacks to avoid:
0. Candy, frostings, and carob desserts that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Fritos
0. Graham crackers
0. Jellies, jams, and peanut butter that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Jello
0. Marshmallows
0. Popcorn
0. Products containing xanthan gum
0. Puddings that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Meats to avoid:
0. Bacon and cooked meats in gravies that contain corn syrup or HFCS
0. Cured ham, sausages, and wieners that contain corn syrup, HFCS, or glucono-delta lactone (GDL)
0. Luncheon meats and sandwich spreads that contain corn syrup or HFCS
Medicines to avoid:
0. Dextrose is common in IV solutions.
0. Most solid or liquid medicines and dietary supplements contain cornstarch. Inquire to the manufacturer, because excipients (additional ingredients) may not necessarily appear on the label.
Miscellaneous products to avoid:
0. Bath or body powder (may contain corn starch)
0. Corn oil is used in emollient creams and toothpastes.
0. Corn syrup is often used as a texturizer and carrying agent in cosmetics.
0. Envelopes, labels, stickers, stamps, and tape may contain corn.
0. Plastic wrap, paper cups and plates can be coated with corn oil.
0. Some plastic food wrappers contain corn.
0. Sorbitol in oral hygiene products (mouthwash and toothpaste) is commercially produced from corn.
0. Zest soap
Best bets
The following foods are good replacements for corn in the diet:
0. Barley
0. Buckwheat
0. Millet
0. Oats
0. Potatoes
0. Rice
0. Rye
0. Spelt (a type of wheat)
0. Sweet potatoes
Wheat
Allergic to Gluten?
0. Do not eat anything that contains the following grains: wheat, rye, and barley.
0. The following can be eaten in any amount: corn, potato, rice, soybeans, tapioca, arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth and quinoa.
0. Distilled white vinegar does not contain gluten.
0. Malt vinegar does contain gluten.
Grains are used in the processing of many ingredients, so it will be necessary to seek out hidden gluten. The following terms found in food labels may mean that there is gluten in the product.
0. Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP), unless made from soy or corn
0. Flour or Cereal products, unless made with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour, or soy flour
0. Vegetable Protein unless made from soy or corn
0. Malt or Malt Flavoring unless derived from corn
0. Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy maize, or maize is used
0. Vegetable Gum unless vegetable gums are carob bean gum, locust bean gum, cellulose gum, guar gum, gum arabic, gum aracia, gum tragacanth, xanthan gum, or vegetable starch
0. Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids unless you know they do not contain wheat
Any of the following words on food labels usually means that a grain containing gluten has been used
0. stabilizer
0. starch
0. flavoring
0. emulsifier
0. hydrolyzed
plant protein
Allergic to Wheat?
0. Barley
0. Commercial Oats*
0. Malt
0. Couscous
0. Durum
0. Spelt
0. Kamut
0. Bulgar
0. Farina
0. Semolina
0. Einkorn
0. Farro _
Grains Allowed on a Gluten-Free Diet
0. Rice
0. Potato
0. Corn
0. Pure, uncontaminated oats*
0. Quinoa
0. Tapioca
0. Buckwheat
0. Yam
0. Teff
0. Amaranth
0. Arrowroot flour
0. Gelatin
0. Xanthan gum) Added to wheat free, Gluten Free Breads
0. Guar gum ) ditto
0. Sorghum
0.
* According to the Canadian Celiac Association, clinical evidence confirms that eating pure, uncontaminated oats is safe in the amount of 50 to 70 grams per day by adults and 20 to 25 grams per day by children with celiac disease. However, some people may not tolerate even the purest uncontaminated oats. So speak to your doctor before introducing oats to a gluten-free diet.
Sweat-Free Baking with Special Flour Blend
Since no single flour can replace wheat flour, baking is the biggest challenge in a gluten-free kitchen. Carol Fenster, PhD, author of Gluten-Free Quick & Easy, suggested mixing 1.5 cups sorghum flour, 1.5 cups potato starch, and 1 cup tapioca flour together to use as a replacement for wheat flour when baking.
The Bottom Line
ALWAYS check food labels and look for the "Gluten-Free" claim or logo. Gluten isn't always found where you expect it to be. For instance, some chocolate or sweetened milk may contain malt or wheat starch. Processed meat like luncheon meat and frozen meat patties may contain fillers made from wheat. For a complete list of foods to avoid and gluten-free food products, refer to Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide written by Shelley Case, RD. This book is a must-have!
Understanding Fiber
Soluble fiber slows down digestion in the stomach and intestines, thus stabilizing blood glucose levels, and may also increase the uptake of minerals and other nutrients during digestion. Insoluble fiber improves health in the intestinal tract by increasing stool volume and stimulating normal bowel contractions thus reducing passage-time through the colon.
Continued .......