Well I'm in Japan- study abroad

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Deterius

Assistant Cook
Hi guys!
Im currently studying in Japan- and I have to get used to some of the ingredients.

My biggest problem, is in terms of cooking tools, I have one stove, a rice cooker and a micorwave.

However, when I'm back in the states I eat roughly the same thing. However, the prices here are different, so I have to alter my cooking method.
My goal is to have the food cheap, nutrituous and quick to cook.
So far this is what I have been cooking;
I would fry onions and garlic, then add a diced potato/eggplant and salt&pepper and soysauce , then let it cook a minute and add some tofu, cabbage and meat (chicken breast, ground meet or something else). I would add ground red peper, some oyester sauce and either half a block of instant curry or just raw curry and sugar. And maybe add some green pepers and vinigar.
The taste is pretty good- and filling.
However, I have nothing else-
This is the ingridients i have;
garlic
onions
potatoes
eggplant
sweet potato
cabbage
green peppers
meat (just about anything is cheap)
eggs
Tofu

anything else is usually expensive, esspecially fruits!
So what would you do.

I'm not sure I understand what you are asking. Are you saying that only those ingredients you listed can be used? Can you get tomatoes, greens, lemons or limes, flour, butter. milk etc? I'm sure we could help you out but a little clarification would help.
First thought is to mix it up by not mixing it up! Stir fries everyday can get old.Try making a rice pilaf with onions and garlic. Then saute some chicken by itself with a little seasoning and then a vegetable. Preferably something green like spinach or chard.

you could make a potato/grn. pepper hash & a potato, onion, & cabbage soup. or potato soup if you could get milk or half & half.