Why do you cook with wine?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

2 Bar

Assistant Cook
I'm new to cooking and am learning by borrowing recipes from online and trying to make them. I recently made a chickedn dish that called for white wine and sherry. It came out great. but left me with the question:

Why do you cook with wine? What does it do to the food? What does it add to the taste? Is all the alcohol removed through the heat? If I understood how it works in recipes, maybe I could start throwing it in a few more dishes or know what to keep in the house.

Thanks.

Cooking with wine

I love to cook with wine because of the flavor it imparts to the dishes. I use it to deglaze and to add another layer of flavor to sauces and gravies.

All of the alcohol does not burn off. For people seriously addicted to alcohol it can be a problem.

There are substitutions available - apple juice, some vinegars, etc. This has been addressed in other places on this forum.

Personally, though, I enjoy cooking with wine - the trouble is that you have to check for quality often....if the recipe calls for 1/2 cup of wine for instance and I open a new bottle I find there is no wine left when the dish is finished because I keep checking!:wacko:

There are numerous reasons to cook with wine. Depending on the recipe those reasons will change.

Chicken or veal marsala uses marsala wine as a main ingredient. In this recipe it is the actual flavor of the wine that you are after.