"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2006, 01:26 PM   #11
Sous Chef
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 905
Could this be a European thing--higher voltage, etc. I hated physics--although I have a pretty good number of degrees and courses in science--so can't even comment on the Faradays, etc. BUT without something being in the wall, and/or there being a faulty circuit somewhere causing the arcing, I don't understand yet. Do the plugs in UK have something in them that would hold the charge? Ours don't. BUT I will be careful
__________________

__________________
Candocook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 01:29 PM   #12
Executive Chef
 
YT2095's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Just left of Europe and down a bit.
Posts: 3,875
Send a message via MSN to YT2095
no, the Device itself has something called a Capacitor that will hold this charge.
a Cap is a bit like Battery (I`m not going into detail about the differences) but suffice to say a Cap will hold it`s charge for a very long time!
__________________

__________________
So long and Thanks for all the Fish ;)

YT2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 02:23 PM   #13
Chef Extraordinaire
 
mudbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NoVA, beyond the Beltway
Posts: 11,166
um.....YT and bucky....I thought we all agreed we'd speak English on this board?
__________________
Kool Aid - Think before you drink.
mudbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 02:29 PM   #14
Executive Chef
 
YT2095's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Just left of Europe and down a bit.
Posts: 3,875
Send a message via MSN to YT2095
sorry Mudbug, it was unintentional on mt part and I`m sure BT was the same, only we WERE asked as to mechanism behind this.

non the less, in effect, it`s a precaution worth taking, Don`t touch the Plug Prongs after use.
__________________
So long and Thanks for all the Fish ;)

YT2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 02:40 PM   #15
Chef Extraordinaire
 
mudbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NoVA, beyond the Beltway
Posts: 11,166
No worries, YT. I was just joshing you. Thanks for a good tip!
__________________
Kool Aid - Think before you drink.
mudbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 03:01 PM   #16
Sous Chef
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by YT2095
no, the Device itself has something called a Capacitor that will hold this charge.
a Cap is a bit like Battery (I`m not going into detail about the differences) but suffice to say a Cap will hold it`s charge for a very long time!
Well, I understand capacitors--it was a blender that has this? What brand--just for my info not to get one!!?
__________________
Candocook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 03:22 PM   #17
Executive Chef
 
YT2095's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Just left of Europe and down a bit.
Posts: 3,875
Send a message via MSN to YT2095
I`m not sure I`m allowed to post that since it`s a rather unflattering thread about this product, I can say so far what you can gleen yourself, it`s Dangerous, it`s a UK product for making Baby Food (by blitzing adult food), and sold at Argos.

EDIT: a link; 220 240 volt coffee/spice grinders it`s the item at the bottom except mine is the CCM104 (they look almost the same though).
__________________
So long and Thanks for all the Fish ;)

YT2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 05:26 PM   #18
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,038
I am very sorry about your blender but it was a good think that you dropped it. You may need an electrician to come and fix the socket.
__________________

Jill and Jolie
shpj4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 05:58 PM   #19
Executive Chef
 
Michelemarie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Suburb of Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,614
Send a message via Yahoo to Michelemarie
YT2, I'm glad you are okay.
__________________
Michele Marie
Michelemarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 06:58 PM   #20
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois/USA
Posts: 1,343
Oh, I just hate electrical shocks! I believe what you experienced was a "feed back". I have a small 3 point kitchen. I have three outlets and one on the stove. When I have to multi-task from a single outlet, I bring in the surge plug. I never use the refrigerator outlet for anything except the refrigerator and something low watt like the cordless telephone charger (and that's probably not a good idea....storm season).
I have bought things that had plug covers. I just threw them away thinking they were to protect during shipping. Maybe they are meant to be used during storeage. I'll think twice when I see a plug cover again.
Holiday wishes to all.
__________________

__________________
StirBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.