"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware
Old 02-26-2012, 12:08 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
Send a message via Yahoo to Bwells
Lightbulb Interested in a new pan, is cast iron really that awesome?

I am very new to this as well as new to cooking. I had a pan that I won at a grocery store but the Teflon coat is deteriorating. I heard cast iron pots and pan are the way to go... Is this true or is there a cheaper substitute? What about Rachel Ray or Paula Dean's line of cookware? Does anyone have any good suggestions?

Bwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 12:16 PM   #2
Executive Chef
I think every cook should have at least one cast iron skillet no matter what other cookware they own.

I took a quick look at Bed Bath & Beyond and all the iron stuff looked very expensive, then looked at Amazon and found a 12" Lodge Logic iron skillet (not a brand I'm familiar with) for about $21. Since cast iron is almost indestructible you could also look at thrift shops and garage/yard sales.

Greg Who Cooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 12:22 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef
A Lodge Logic 10" or 12" skillet is a great first piece. It's versatile, non-stick given time and can do a host of tasks. Buy Lodge Logic (pre-seasoned) wherever you find it cheapest. Wal-Mart, Target, hardware stores, etc. The 10" is around $12-$15 and the 12" s/b available for under $20.

They will literally last a lifetime. Check out the Lodge Mfg. website for use and care instructions (very simple).

If you want something different, I'd go with tri-ply stainless. More expensive but also an excellent choice.
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:29 PM   #4
Head Chef