Crisper pickles

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

larry_stewart

Master Chef
Ive been making pickles for at least 20 years. Sometimes they come out crispy, sometimes mushy and sometimes in between.

Obviously I prefer the crispy texture, but I have never established a consistancy.

I use the freshest of fresh cukes ( from the garden).

Does anyone have a specific method, additive or ingredient that could assure more crisper pickle for me :)

Larry,
1. do you use the natural fermentation process (in a crock with salt solution)?
2. Or do you mean pickles, cucumbers in a brine with salt vinegar and spices?
I'll be watching for answers too. I use lime to keep mine crisp with very small cucumbers using the second process, but I'm going to try the first process this year.
~Bliss

Basically the cucumber + salt + vinegar + spices .
My dad read somewhere that if u put a few grape leaves in, there is something in the grape leaves that keep them crisp. Doesnt predictably work for me, so Im looking for a more predictable method. I dont really have a ' set recipe' I just kinda use what I have on hand.

Also, Im interested specifically in Dill, garlic, sour, half sour .... Im not a fan of sweet pickles.

You need to include grape, cherry, or oak leaves.

I have to go out of the forum,(I should have checked reference before commenting) to find the site I can refer you to. Be right back..................................

Ok, I'm back.

What I was thinking of is a recipe called:
WESTPORT RIVER BARREL CUKES
check: canning recipes | westport river barrel cukes recipe
for the ref. I made to grape, cherry or oak leaves.

Also, the Ball Canning Co. sells something called: Ball Pickle Crisp.
I've never used it, but see: Canning Supplies, Canning Equipment and Pickling Supplies from Canning Pantry.com