"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Special Events Planning & Holiday Cooking

Old 11-12-2013, 08:06 PM   #1
Proud American

Entertaining Guests?

I'm trying to learn to be an excellent hostess when my friends come here for meals.

I know the table must be inviting, and I know each guest must be greeted very nicely and offered a beverage and an appetizer.

I tried to find a part of the website for proper entertaining but I found none. Where must I post my question?

It's not about cooking, but it has much to do with food I think, yes?

With love,
~Cat

Old 11-12-2013, 09:39 PM   #2
Executive Chef

You are right Cat, entertaining does have a lot to do with food. I tried to locate a thread, what I found were a Couple of etiquette threads, which perhaps contain a few entertaining pointers. I am not good at inserting "links", but if you search "etiquette" you will find them. I see no reason why this topic wouldn't make a good thread, so I say go for it (build it and they will come) ;)

Old 11-12-2013, 09:45 PM   #3
Proud American

Perhaps this could be a subforum of general cooking? I need to make eveything perfect for Mamma and Papa when they arrive. Etiquette will help me!

Thank you so very much!

With love,
~Cat
Old 11-13-2013, 08:26 AM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

There's a forum for Special Event Planning where these questions could be posted.
Old 11-13-2013, 12:34 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Cat, one of the things that seems to help me when I want to entertain is to have as much of my meal/food prepared ahead of time. This serves two purposes. One, I can be more relaxed, knowing that I won't have to rush around in the kitchen. Secondly, doing this allows me to spend time visiting with my guests, which is something they came to enjoy along with the food.