"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Substitutions

Old 03-01-2009, 12:42 PM   #1
Honey Badger

Lard Usage?

I hope I'm asking this question in the right section.

I bought some Lard to replace Crisco for baking.Like everything else at the store lately Crisco has gone up twice the price it normally would be.

To use lard in a recipe that would normally call for Crisco.Do I need to increase/decrease the amount used in a recipe? Or should I just eye it?

I've never used lard before.

Thanks,

Munky.

Old 03-01-2009, 12:47 PM   #2
Everymom

Exactly the same amount. Lard is merely animal based fat instead of vegetable based, like Crisco.

Edit: PS, moved this to substitutions.

Old 03-01-2009, 12:58 PM   #3
Master Chef

Especially for pastries, lard will give you superior results to vegetable shortenings. And contrary to popular belief, lard (rendered pig fat), is actually healthier for the body than is hydrogenated vegetable shortening (transfats). I think you will like your results.

Seeeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- http://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 01:01 PM   #4
Honey Badger

Thank you for moving this.

It was one of those posts "Not sure this is the correct spot?" but let's try anyways..

That would be a great section to have added here.I can't be the only one.. Ok I probably am the only one... :)

Re Lard:

Thanks for the info.The Lard was $2.00 more than the Crisco,and it's a 10 pound container.Crisco's was 2 pounds.. Saved some money.Yeah!!!!! :)

Thanks

Munky.
Old 03-01-2009, 01:07 PM   #5
Honey Badger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodweed of the North View Post