Birds Eat Tomatoes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sattie

Washing Up
Dang-nab-it!!!!!! :angry: I finally get my first ripe tomato of the year and it looks like something had a bite of it! It does not look like bugs either, it almost looks like it was pecked at. Do birds eat tomatos? Any idea how to keep them away?

Hi Sattie - This is my first year at tomato growing and I have a couple that are almost ripe. I've heard many complain about mockingbirds pecking at their tomatoes. Their solutions vary. One said to surround the plants with chicken wire. Another said to put water in a bird bath and hope they leave the tomatoes alone.

I've also heard you're better picking them early, and let them ripen on a windowsill.

I haven't tried any of these yet. I hope I don't have to.

Good luck!

My dad went and got a very large blow up nasty looking snake and put it in the tomatoe patch..worked like a charm.I've hung baloons and foil streamers and that helps..The birds love tomatoes, apricots, peaches we've learned to share with them..It's easier than standing out there making like a scare crow:LOL:
kadesma

Yes, birds will eat your tomatoes, as well as terrapins, tomato worms, squirrels and ground hogs.

We pick ours when they first start to turn, and ripen them on trays on the dining room table. They don't need light to continue ripening. The critters do get their share, though.

My chickens love tomatoes.... once they figured out they were food.

Another good deterrent my Grandma used to use: hang some CDs from fishing line around your garden - they twirl around in the wind and birds can't stand them.

(and the mockingbirds, finches & sparrows around here help themselves to my loquat tree WAY too regularly! So I understand your pain!)