Help with cooking a whole chicken please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cella

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone, my name is Cella & I'm brand spankin' new to this site so please bare with me.

I came across discusscooking.com after I Googled "How long do you cook a whole chicken"? I've read all of the comments and sadly I'm still unsure. I am a beginner in the kitchen (hence the "bare with me" statement) so forgive me if the answer should have been obvious.

I have a 8.30 lb Purdue whole fryer and I don't know how long I should cook it, nor do I know what temperature to cook it at?

Like everyone else, all I want is for the thing to be juicy! So cooking it "low & slow" is preferred, right? Also, do I baste it or do anything else? Heck, I don't even know if I cover the thing with foil or not!

If anyone could tell me the play by play instructions for this, I'd greatly appreciate it! Thanks in advance ~ Cella :chef:

Welcome to DC!

425 F for 1.5-2 hours should do it. For an 8.3 lb bird, you're probably looking at closer to 2 hours.

But if you have the time, it's usually better to roast at a lower temperature, since the chicken stays moist and cooks more evenly. At 325 F, a bird that size will probably take 3.5 hours.

The chicken is done when a temperature probe inserted into the thickest part of the thigh reads 165 F.

Last edited:
Hi everyone, my name is Cella & I'm brand spankin' new to this site so please bare with me.

I came across discusscooking.com after I Googled "How long do you cook a whole chicken"? I've read all of the comments and sadly I'm still unsure. I am a beginner in the kitchen (hence the "bare with me" statement) so forgive me if the answer should have been obvious.

I have a 8.30 lb Purdue whole fryer and I don't know how long I should cook it, nor do I know what temperature to cook it at?