"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 08-27-2009, 04:15 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Baby Milk

Hi guys,
Hope you can help me out with this Unusual Question.
We have just had our 2nd baby 14 years after our first & I don't understand the Baby milk.The Mid-Wife tells us that when we pour say 4-5oz of boiling water in to the Milk bottle we then add the 4-5 spoonfuls of Powdered milk, But what gets me is that the Mid-Wife says when you place the Locking cap over the Milk bottle you leave it to cool down & then place in the Fridge.As a chef I thought the Idea was to make sure Steam escapes from the bottle to stop the milk from turning & also the quicker it cools down the safer it is to eat/drink?

Any help more than welcome....thx

Old 08-27-2009, 08:51 AM   #2
Master Chef

SugarPlums, I don't know where you live but my experience as a Pediatric nurse, we never mixed powdered formula with boiling water. The water should be boiled then let cool to room temperature before adding the powder. The boiling is just to remove some of the impurities from the water. Adding the powder to boiling water may actually degrade some of the nutrients. The water should be brought just to boil and not left to boil long as this may affect the volume of water you have to mix.

Hope this answers your questions and Congratualtions on your new family member.

Welcome to DC and hope you find it a nice place to visit.

Old 08-27-2009, 09:17 AM   #3
Head Chef

I agree, the water is first boiled, then cooled. There should be directions on the package of formula (baby milk) as to how to mix it.

Wyogal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 09:23 AM   #4
Chief Eating Officer

We never were told to use boiled water. Our doctor told us to use regular tap water.