Cooking ground meat??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stephcurry

Assistant Cook
Hey I'm new to cooking so I was just wondering... how long does it take to cook ground meat in a skillet on the stove on medium heat after thawing ??

How much time exactly? 10mins, 15mins?

(1) Pork
(2) Chicken
(3) Bison
(4) Beef

Thanks let me know!

hi steph, welcome to dc.

how much meat?

how big is the skillet?

what type of skillet (cast iron, fully clad stainless steel, thinner stainless steel, anodized aluminum with a non-stick surface, all aluminum inside and out, tin lined copper)?

are you just looking to just get it cooked through, or are you looking for darker browning of the meat?

Last edited:
hey, it's cast iron and it's medium sized. The amount of meat is about::

500grams lean ground beef
454grams lean ground bison
454grams lean ground bison stir fry
450grams lean ground pork
454grams lean ground chicken

but I cook each meat in different pots on different days

I just want to cook it through and get it browned safely

this largely depends on how much you add to the pan. cast iron is a good way to go, especially for browning, but if you put too much in at any time the meat releases it's juices and you end up steaming instead of browning. you'll have to cook it until all of the liquid evaporates and the browning starts which would add more time to the process.

i'd go with 6 to 8 minutes for beef, maybe a little more, but again it depends on the temp and how crowded the pan is. it should brown easily if you do it in 2 or 3 batches. if so, reduce the time. it's more of a visual thing. you'll know that it's cooked through when it's not red anymore and starts to turn brown on the edges of the clumps. stir it around several times per minute to get it all cooked and browning evenly.