"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 01-06-2006, 10:46 AM   #1
Sous Chef

Do you know your onions?

Well, I certainly don't but would love to . All these onions I see in the supermarkets, red, spring, yellow, cipollini and so on. They surely all can't be used in the same dishes right? And what dishes might these be? I normally reach out for the yellow onions and know not to burn them but saute them slowly to retain their natural sweetness whatever the recipe. So what about the rest? Anyone know?

Old 01-06-2006, 11:48 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Try these two links to get some basic info on dry and green onions.

http://www.foodsubs.com/Onionsdry.html

http://www.foodsubs.com/Onionsgreen.html

Old 01-06-2006, 11:54 AM   #3
Master Chef

Sizzles, I'm not an expert, but I can give you a couple of hints. I keep the hard yellow Spanish onions on hand to cook with, as they are good keepers, and have a strong onion flavor. I buy the large sweet yellow onions on a weekly basis for slicing or caramelizing.
The big red onions are pretty for salads.
I buy the little boiling onions for soups and stews.
By spring onions, are you referring to green onions/scallions? Chop these using tops and all for garnishes for soups and to add a zippy flavor to dips, spreads, oriental and Mexican dishes.
Shallots are a milder onion flavor, and nice for sauces.
Leeks are very mild also, and wonderful in soups, braised vegetables, or as a side dish.
As for the big white onions...the ones we get here are awfully hot.
I've recently started seeing the cipollini in the grocery store here...I haven't tried them yet.
Old 01-06-2006, 11:59 AM   #4
Executive Chef

Send a message via Yahoo to Dina